First-ever live online screening of THE OIL MACHINE + Q&A

When

Tuesday, 06 Dec 2022 at 7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Where

theoilmachine.eventive.org


With a special introduction to the film featuring a chat with George Monbiot, Guardian columnist and author of Regenesis.

Followed by a Q&A session with the film's director Emma Davie and the contributors Tessa Khan (climate lawyer and campaigner) and Professor Kevin Anderson (formerly a petrochemical engineer, now a climate crisis expert and one of Greta Thunberg's collaborators). The conversation is hosted by Terry Macalister (former Energy Editor of The Guardian), with our outreach coordinator Rachel Caplan managing the live chat and relaying your questions to the panel.

Pay what you can, with cost-of-living crisis pricing from £1.89 to cover our costs. If you can pay more it'll help keep our impact campaign going for longer!

This film screening + Q&A will broadcast live at 7pm GMT. You will not be able to pause or rewind. You cannot access the event once the broadcast ends.

This one-off event is available worldwide. You can watch from anywhere as long as your internet connection is fast enough. The live event starts at 11am PT, 2pm ET, 7pm GMT, 8pm CET... 

Tickets

£1.89 GBP
Buy tickets now

Coming up...

Southsea Green Film Festival

Sunday, 26 May 2024 at 3:00 PM
Southsea Community Cinema & Arts Centre in Southsea, Portsmouth, United Kingdom (on Google Maps)
£7.50 GBP


From the discovery of huge oil fields off the coast of Scotland to their mass privatisation during the Thatcher era, The Oil Machine highlights how oil became the invisible engine driving UK economic and public policy. In the wake of COP26 in Glasgow, demand for climate action has become a key societal concern and the pressure on both oil companies and the government continues to mount. Bringing together a wide range of voices, from industry executives and economists to young activists, Davie offers a visceral and thought-provoking interrogation into how this insidious machine might be dismantled.

University of Technology in Delft

Monday, 27 May 2024 at 6:00 PM
TU Delft – Faculty of Architecture, Hall F (08.01.West.200) in Delft, Netherlands (on Google Maps)


Can we break our addiction? Join us at a screening of the award-winning documentary THE OIL MACHINE followed by a discussion.

Naturvernforbundet i Fredrikstad og Hvaler, Norway

Wednesday, 05 Jun 2024 at 6:00 PM
Fredrikstad kino in Gamle Fredrikstad, Norway (on Google Maps)


Can we break our addiction? Screening of the award winning documentary The Oil Machine and discussion hosted by Naturvernforbundet i Fredrikstad og Hvaler (NiFH), a local branch of the Norwegian 'Friends of the Earth'.

Sleaford Climate Action Network

Friday, 21 Jun 2024 at 7:15 PM
Sleaford Masonic Centre in Sleaford, United Kingdom (on Google Maps)


Can we break our addiction? A screening of the award winning documentary THE OIL MACHINE followed by a discussion of the subject matter.